- How CGSC Testing Actually Works
- Why There Is No Fixed Test-Date Calendar Here
- Membership and Voucher: The Real Gate Before Any Date
- Fees, Attempts, and Budgeting Your Date
- Remote Proctoring vs. Testing Center
- Choosing Your Exam Date Around the Content
- A CGSC-Specific Backward Timeline
- Exam-Day Logistics: Books, ID, and the Four-Hour Block
- After You Pass: Maintaining the Credential
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified General Surgery Coder exam is AAPC-administered: 100 multiple-choice questions, four hours, one sitting, 70% correct to pass.
- Active AAPC membership and an unused exam voucher are required before you can schedule a CGSC attempt.
- The specialty exam fee is $325 for one attempt or $399 for two attempts.
- Your government photo ID must match your registration exactly, or you risk being turned away.
How CGSC Testing Actually Works
If you searched for CGSC exam dates expecting a neat calendar of fixed testing windows with registration deadlines, here is the honest answer up front: the Certified General Surgery Coder credential, issued by AAPC, is not published on a single fixed-date schedule that we can verify for 2026. What is verifiable is the structure of the exam and the mechanics of getting into a seat. This guide focuses on those mechanics so you can build a realistic plan instead of waiting for a date announcement that may never come.
The exam is delivered through AAPC's testing arrangements, either live-remote with a proctor or at a computer testing center. AAPC's authorized testing center listing places AAPC exams under Meazure Learning, though the specific remote vendor used for the CGSC itself is not something we can confirm, so check your AAPC account at registration for the exact delivery details attached to your voucher.
The format never changes regardless of when or where you test:
- 100 proctored multiple-choice questions (the split between scored and unscored items is not disclosed)
- Four hours in a single sitting
- 70% correct required to pass
For a deeper look at what that threshold means for your preparation, see our breakdown of the CGSC passing score.
Why There Is No Fixed Test-Date Calendar Here
Many candidates come from paper-and-calendar certification cultures where an exam happens on one Saturday in spring and one in fall. The CGSC does not present itself that way in the public material we reviewed. The AAPC help page describing the certification confirms the format and the competency areas, but it does not publish a dated list of testing windows or registration cutoffs. That page is dated May 23, 2024 and is still the current official description, which is itself useful information: nothing in it has been superseded by a newly dated 2026 blueprint.
Be skeptical of any site that lists specific CGSC testing dates, window openings, or late-registration deadlines without citing AAPC directly. Those details are easy to fabricate and hard for a reader to verify.
Membership and Voucher: The Real Gate Before Any Date
The actual deadline structure for a CGSC candidate is not a calendar date; it is a sequence of prerequisites. You cannot book a seat until each is in place:
- Active AAPC membership. Membership is required, and there is no separate non-member exam price. The current shop listing shows a membership add-on at $229.
- An exam voucher. The voucher must be unused at the time you register. An already-redeemed voucher will not carry over to a new attempt.
- Matching government-issued photo ID. The name on your ID must match the name on your AAPC registration.
There is no mandatory prior credential, no degree requirement, no reference letters, and no fixed minimum years of specialty experience. AAPC does recommend roughly two years of experience, and the exam assumes advanced specialty knowledge, so the lack of a hard prerequisite should not be read as "easy." Our CGSC requirements guide walks through eligibility in full detail, and the difficulty guide explains why the experience recommendation matters.
Fees, Attempts, and Budgeting Your Date
The fee structure directly shapes how you should think about scheduling, because the one-attempt and two-attempt options create a real strategic choice.
| Item | Amount | Scheduling implication |
|---|---|---|
| CGSC exam, one attempt | $325 | Best if you are confident and have finished full-length practice |
| CGSC exam, two attempts | $399 | Costs $74 more and gives you a built-in retake if the first date goes badly |
| AAPC membership add-on (shop listing) | $229 | Required before booking; separate from the exam fee |
The $74 difference between the two options is small relative to the cost of buying a full second voucher later. For a credential that tests advanced surgical coding across 100 questions, many candidates reasonably choose the two-attempt package to remove the pressure from their first date. That decision, in turn, changes how you pick a date: with a retake in your pocket, you can schedule earlier and treat attempt one as a calibrated test rather than a do-or-die event. For the complete cost picture, including study materials, read our CGSC certification cost breakdown.
Remote Proctoring vs. Testing Center
Because both live-remote and testing-center delivery are described, you need to decide which suits your situation, and that decision affects which dates are realistic.
Live-remote proctoring
Remote testing requires a suitable room, a computer, a stable internet connection, and an external webcam. If you plan to test from home, do a full equipment check well before your date, not the night before. A laptop's built-in camera may not satisfy the requirement, so confirm what your proctoring instructions specify.
Computer testing center
A center removes your home-technology risk but ties you to the center's local availability and your travel. If your nearest location is far away, the practical date options narrow. The center-based route is often the safer choice for candidates with unreliable internet or a noisy household.
Choosing Your Exam Date Around the Content
The smartest scheduling logic for this exam is content-driven. Because the six published assessment areas are unweighted and no official weighted blueprint is verified, you cannot safely skip any of them on the theory that they count for little. Plan your date around when you can realistically cover all six at exam depth.
Domain 1: Physician and operative-note abstraction for ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS Level II and modifiers
This is the skill the whole exam leans on: reading a physician office note or operative note and abstracting accurate codes and modifiers from it.
- Practice pulling every reportable element from an operative note, not just the headline procedure
- Drill modifier selection, since a correct CPT code with the wrong modifier is still a wrong answer
- Know the study guide's operative note and unlisted-procedure sections cold
Domain 2: Evaluation and management guidelines
New and established office and outpatient visits, consultations, and hospital services all appear in the published scope.
- Same-date return visits to the office
- Documentation requirements that drive level selection
- Standby services and how they differ from other E/M reporting
Domain 3: Medicare billing rules and regulations
This is where general surgery coding gets rule-heavy.
- Incident-to and shared/split visit rules
- Teaching physician guidelines
- Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN) situations
- The global surgical package: what the global period includes and excludes
Domain 4: General Surgery surgical procedure coding
The procedural heart of the credential. Published examples include gastric bypass, breast biopsy, ambulatory phlebectomy, skin graft, cholecystectomy, and pancreatic resection.
- Surgical complications versus routine postoperative care
- Add-on codes, separate procedures, and sequential procedures
- Intra-service versus post-procedure care only
Domain 5: Medical terminology
Terminology is foundational and supports every other domain, especially reading operative notes accurately.
Domain 6: Anatomy and physiology
Anatomy and physiology, along with specialty pathophysiology expected of experienced candidates, underpin your ability to choose correct procedure and diagnosis codes.
For a domain-by-domain walkthrough with question styles, see our complete guide to all six CGSC content areas.
A CGSC-Specific Backward Timeline
Rather than a generic study calendar, here is a backward-planned sequence built around how these particular domains depend on each other. Terminology and anatomy come first because every operative note you will later abstract depends on them. Adjust the length to your own experience level; this is a structure, not a promise about how long you need.
Foundations: terminology, anatomy, physiology
- Review surgical terminology and the anatomy behind the six named procedure types
- Set up your three permitted code books and tab them
ICD-10-CM guidelines and E/M
- Work through general and chapter-specific ICD-10-CM guidelines
- Practice E/M leveling for office, consultation, and hospital services
Medicare rules and the global package
- Incident-to, shared visits, teaching physician rules, ABN
- Global period logic and complications
Procedure coding and operative-note abstraction
- Add-on, separate, sequential, and unlisted procedures
- Timed abstraction practice from full operative notes
Full-length simulation
- Sit a 100-question practice block under a four-hour limit
- Review misses by domain and revisit the weakest one
One caution on practice material: the study guide's 35-question quiz and the 50-question practice product are not the 100-question credential exam. Use them to find weak areas, but do not treat a good score on a shorter set as proof you are ready for a four-hour, 100-question sitting. Build stamina with longer sessions, and use our CGSC practice tests for full-length timed work. Our CGSC study guide covers resource selection in more depth.
Key Takeaway
Book your date only after you have sat at least one full-length, timed simulation and scored comfortably above the 70% line. If your first full-length attempt falls short, move the date back or choose the two-attempt package before you register, not after.
Exam-Day Logistics: Books, ID, and the Four-Hour Block
Your scheduled date is only as good as your preparation for the day itself. Three logistics trip up otherwise well-prepared candidates.
Permitted reference materials
You may bring one copy each of the AMA CPT Professional, the ICD-10-CM, and the HCPCS Level II code books. Current-year or prior-year editions are both acceptable. The one-copy limit is real, so do not plan on bringing a second edition for comparison. Tabbing and highlighting your books in advance is standard practice; check your proctoring instructions for any marking restrictions before you annotate heavily.
Identification
Bring government-issued photo ID that matches your registration. A mismatch in name format, such as a missing middle name or a hyphenation difference, is an avoidable reason to be denied entry. Verify your AAPC account name against your ID well before test day.
Pacing the four hours
Four hours for 100 questions averages out to well over two minutes per question, which sounds generous until you hit a long operative note that requires several codes. Operative-note scenarios are the time sinks. A reasonable approach is to answer straightforward terminology and anatomy items quickly, bank the saved time, and spend it on multi-procedure scenarios in Domains 1 and 4. Because there is only one sitting with no stated break structure that we can verify, plan your food, hydration, and bathroom needs beforehand and confirm any break policy in your instructions.
After You Pass: Maintaining the Credential
Scheduling does not end at the exam. Maintaining the CGSC requires annual AAPC membership and 36 continuing education units (CEUs) every two years, including eight that are general-surgery-specific. If you hold more than one AAPC credential, those requirements are stated for a single credential, so confirm how your CEUs apply across multiple credentials with AAPC directly.
Thinking about this at the scheduling stage is worthwhile because it affects the true long-run cost of the credential. Weigh it against career upside using our ROI analysis and the salary guide, and explore where the credential gets used in practice on our CGSC jobs page. For a quick reference you can review before your date, see the CGSC cheat sheet.
Frequently Asked Questions
We could not verify a published calendar of fixed testing windows or registration deadlines for the Certified General Surgery Coder exam. What is confirmed is the format and the prerequisites. Confirm available dates and times inside your AAPC account after your membership and voucher are active.
You need active AAPC membership, an unused exam voucher, and government photo ID matching your registration. There is no required prior credential, degree, or references, though about two years of experience is recommended.
The specialty exam is $325 for one attempt or $399 for two attempts. Membership is required separately, and the current shop listing shows a membership add-on at $229. See our cost breakdown for the full picture.
Live-remote proctored testing is available, but it requires a suitable room, a computer, a reliable internet connection, and an external webcam. A computer testing center is the alternative if your home setup is unreliable.
If you bought the two-attempt package, your second attempt is already covered. With a single attempt, you would need a new voucher. The pass rate for this specific credential is not publicly disclosed, so see what the data shows for context on how to interpret available figures.