- Identity Check: Which CGSC This Sheet Covers
- The Exam at a Glance
- Fees, Membership and Registration Mechanics
- The Six Published Assessment Areas
- E/M and Medicare Rules to Memorize
- Procedure Coding Concepts That Trip Candidates Up
- Code Books and Test-Day Logistics
- Numbers You Should Not Confuse
- Which Domain to Schedule When
- Keeping the Credential and Where It Is Used
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The exam is 100 proctored multiple-choice questions in one four-hour sitting; you need 70% correct to pass.
- Open books are allowed: one each of AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II, current or prior-year editions.
- AAPC publishes six unweighted assessment areas, not a weighted blueprint, so study all six rather than betting on one.
- Exam fee is $325 for one attempt or $399 for two, and AAPC membership is required.
Identity Check: Which CGSC This Sheet Covers
Several unrelated credentials share the acronym "CGSC." This cheat sheet covers exactly one: the Certified General Surgery Coder, a specialty credential offered by AAPC (the American Academy of Professional Coders). Nothing here applies to any other credential that happens to abbreviate the same way, so if you have been comparing fees, dates or pass rates from a search result, confirm that the source is talking about the AAPC general surgery coding credential before you rely on it.
If you are still orienting yourself, these short explainers cover the basics: What Is CGSC Certification? and What Does CGSC Stand For?. This page assumes you already know the credential exists and want the facts compressed into one scannable review.
The Exam at a Glance
| Item | What the published sources say |
|---|---|
| Credential | Certified General Surgery Coder (AAPC specialty credential) |
| Question count | 100 proctored multiple-choice questions |
| Time limit | 4 hours, in one sitting |
| Passing standard | 70% correct |
| Open books | One each: AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM, HCPCS Level II; current or preceding-year editions |
| Delivery | Live-remote proctoring or a computer testing center; AAPC lists Meazure Learning among its authorized centers |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Official pass rate | Not publicly disclosed for this credential |
Two points deserve emphasis. First, the 100-question count and four-hour window come from the current AAPC help page for this specific credential. Second, the vendor for remote delivery of this particular exam is unverified in the public record, so check your AAPC account at scheduling time rather than assuming.
Fees, Membership and Registration Mechanics
Money and logistics are easy exam-prep topics to skip, but they cause real delays. Here is the mechanical picture.
- Exam fee: $325 for one attempt, or $399 for a package of two attempts.
- Membership: AAPC membership is required to sit for the exam. There is no separate non-member exam price. The current shop membership add-on is listed at $229.
- Voucher: Your exam voucher must be unused and active when you schedule.
- Identification: You need government photo ID that matches the name on your registration.
- Prerequisites: This is a stand-alone certification. No prior credential, degree, references or fixed amount of specialty experience is mandated. AAPC recommends about two years of experience and advanced specialty knowledge, but that is guidance, not a gate.
For the full pricing picture, including how membership and the two-attempt option change your total, see CGSC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown. For eligibility details, see CGSC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
The Six Published Assessment Areas
AAPC's current help page for this credential lists six competencies the examination tests. These are unweighted published topics, not a dated, weighted blueprint, and no domain has been established as the largest. The 2026 specialty study guide also states that it is not comprehensive. In practice that means you should prepare for all six and treat any claim about "the biggest section" with suspicion. A deeper walk-through lives in CGSC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.
Domain 1: Physician and operative-note abstraction for ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS Level II and modifiers
You read physician office notes and operative notes and pull out the codes. This is the area where everything else converges.
- Identify the diagnosis, the procedure performed and any supplies or services that need HCPCS Level II codes.
- Decide which modifiers the documentation supports and which it does not.
- Distinguish what was planned from what was actually done in the operative note.
Domain 2: Evaluation and management guidelines
E/M for new and established office/outpatient services, consultations and hospital services.
- Know the documentation requirements that support each E/M category and subcategory.
- Understand when a patient returning to the office on the same date of service changes the coding picture.
- Recognize how standby services differ from face-to-face visits.
Domain 3: Medicare billing rules and regulations
The published scope names incident-to, teaching situations, shared visits, consultations and global surgery.
- Incident-to requirements and when a service does not qualify.
- Teaching physician guidelines and what documentation shows physician presence.
- Shared/split visits and the Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN).
Domain 4: General surgery surgical procedure coding
The published examples include gastric bypass, breast biopsy, ambulatory phlebectomy, skin graft, cholecystectomy and pancreatic resection.
- Select the right code family from the operative narrative.
- Apply add-on, separate-procedure and sequential-procedure logic correctly.
- Know when an unlisted procedure code is the only honest option.
Domain 5: Medical terminology
Word parts, surgical approach terms and procedure names. Terminology errors cascade into code selection errors, so treat this as a speed skill: you should decode an unfamiliar operative term in seconds.
Domain 6: Anatomy and physiology
Regional anatomy for the abdomen, breast, vascular system, skin and endocrine structures that general surgeons operate on. AAPC's published experience expectations also include specialty pathophysiology, so know the disease processes behind the procedures, not just the names.
E/M and Medicare Rules to Memorize
The 2026 study guide's table of contents is the best public map of what the preparation material emphasizes. The E/M and Medicare-related headings are worth turning into a flashcard list:
- Documentation requirements associated with E/M services and the E/M categories and subcategories
- Patient returning to the office on the same date of service
- Incident-to guidelines
- Standby services
- Shared/split visits
- Teaching physician guidelines
- Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN)
For each topic, force yourself to answer three questions without opening a book: What triggers it? What must the documentation show? What is the most common way coders misapply it? Because the exam is open book, the goal is not rote recall of every rule but knowing exactly where to look and recognizing a trap in a scenario.
Key Takeaway
Open-book does not mean easy. With 100 questions in four hours you have roughly two and a half minutes per question on average, so build tabs and bookmarks in your three code books during practice, and rehearse finding guideline text fast.
Procedure Coding Concepts That Trip Candidates Up
The study guide's CPT section for general surgery is where the credential earns its specialty label. Memorize this cluster:
- The global surgical package and global period: what is bundled into a surgical procedure and what falls outside it.
- Surgical complications: how return-to-the-OR and post-operative problems are treated.
- Intra-service or post-procedure care only: when a surgeon provides only part of the package.
- Add-on codes: never reported alone, always tied to a primary procedure.
- Separate procedures: procedures that are normally integral to another service and should not be reported with it.
- Sequential procedures: how multiple related operations are ordered and reported.
- The operative note: reading it for what was done, how, and through which approach.
- Unlisted procedures: the last resort when no code describes the service.
The study guide even includes a chapter titled "Top 10 Missed Coding Concepts on CGSC Exam." Whatever your study plan looks like, schedule time on that chapter. Concepts that earlier candidates miss repeatedly are a reasonable proxy for where you are likely to lose points.
Code Books and Test-Day Logistics
The permitted references are narrow: AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II, one copy of each, current or preceding-year editions. Plan your annotation strategy with those limits in mind. Make sure your tabs and highlighting comply with proctoring rules, and do not rely on a guideline binder, notes or any third-party reference.
- Bring or have ready matching government photo ID.
- Confirm your registration name matches your ID exactly.
- If testing remotely, test your external webcam, internet connection and room setup ahead of time.
- Plan for one uninterrupted four-hour sitting, including how you will handle fatigue in the final stretch.
For the practical side of scheduling, see CGSC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Numbers You Should Not Confuse
Several figures in the public materials look similar but mean different things. Keep them straight:
| Number | What it actually refers to |
|---|---|
| 100 | Questions on the live credential exam |
| 35 | Questions in the quiz inside the official study guide, not the exam |
| 50 | Questions in a separate AAPC practice product, not the exam |
| 70% | Passing standard on the exam |
| 36 | CEUs required per two-year cycle |
| 8 | Of those 36 CEUs, the number that must be general-surgery-specific |
| $325 / $399 | Exam fee for one attempt / two attempts |
The study guide quiz and the 50-question practice product are useful for checking your understanding, but neither reproduces the length, pacing or stamina demand of the real 100-question, four-hour exam. When you want to simulate that pressure, use a full-length format such as the one on the main CGSC practice test site. The passing standard is explained further in CGSC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Which Domain to Schedule When
Since no domain has a published weight, a balanced sequence that builds from foundations to application makes sense. This is a sample six-week ordering, not a guarantee; adjust it to your background. A fuller plan is in CGSC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
Terminology and anatomy (Domains 5 and 6)
- Build surgical word-part fluency first so operative notes stop looking foreign.
- Pair each procedure in the published list with its anatomy and the underlying disease.
ICD-10-CM guidelines (Domain 1)
- General and chapter-specific guidelines.
- Practice diagnosis abstraction from physician notes.
E/M (Domain 2)
- Documentation requirements, categories and subcategories.
- Same-date return visits and standby services.
Medicare rules (Domain 3)
- Incident-to, shared/split, teaching physician, ABN.
- Global surgery concepts as they intersect with billing.
Surgical procedure coding (Domain 4)
- Operative-note drills for each published procedure example.
- Add-on, separate, sequential and unlisted procedure logic.
Integration and timed practice
- Full-length timed sets with your tabbed books.
- Review the "Top 10 Missed Coding Concepts" chapter and your own error log.
If you are weighing how much preparation you personally need, How Hard Is the CGSC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 helps you calibrate based on your coding background.
Keeping the Credential and Where It Is Used
Passing is the beginning of a maintenance cycle. To keep the credential in good standing you must maintain annual AAPC membership and earn 36 CEUs every two years, including eight that are general-surgery-specific. Those requirements are stated for a single credential; they do not stack up as a separate burden unless you hold others.
Employers that value this credential are, by nature of the specialty, those that bill for general surgery services: surgical practices, hospital-affiliated surgical groups and billing organizations that handle surgical specialties. Exact salary outcomes depend on region, experience and employer, and this article does not quote figures. For earnings context, see CGSC Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, and for a return-on-investment view, read Is the CGSC Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026. If you are researching openings, CGSC Jobs is a good starting point.
Frequently Asked Questions
The live exam has 100 proctored multiple-choice questions, taken in one four-hour sitting. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed. Do not confuse this with the 35-question quiz in the study guide or the 50-question practice product, which are study tools, not the exam.
You need 70% correct. AAPC has not published a CGSC-specific pass rate, and its broader student marketing statistic should not be treated as this credential's rate.
Yes, within limits. You may use one each of AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II, in current or preceding-year editions. Follow the proctoring rules on what annotations and materials are acceptable.
No. This is a stand-alone certification with no mandatory prior credential, degree, references or fixed experience minimum. AAPC recommends about two years of experience, and you do need AAPC membership, an unused voucher and matching government photo ID.
Not a verified, dated, weighted one. AAPC publishes six assessment competencies without percentages, and the 2026 study guide says it is not comprehensive. Prepare across all six areas rather than assuming one dominates.
For a broader introduction before you dive into drills, you can also start with What Is CGSC? or head straight to the CGSC practice tests to see where your knowledge stands today.