CGSC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CGSC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • The CGSC is a stand-alone AAPC certification with no mandatory prior credential, degree, references, or fixed experience minimum.
  • AAPC membership and an unused exam voucher are required before you can sit for the exam.
  • The exam is 100 proctored multiple-choice questions in four hours, with 70% correct needed to pass.
  • Two years of experience is recommended, and advanced general surgery coding knowledge is expected.

What Actually Qualifies You for the CGSC

The Certified General Surgery Coder credential, issued by AAPC (the American Academy of Professional Coders), is a specialty certification. If you are searching for CGSC requirements, the most important thing to know up front is that the formal gate is surprisingly low while the practical bar is genuinely high. AAPC does not make you prove a particular degree, a prior credential, or a set number of logged hours before you register. What it does expect is that you can already work inside a general surgery coding workflow: reading operative notes, assigning ICD-10-CM, CPT, and HCPCS Level II codes, and applying modifiers correctly.

Think of qualification in two layers. The first layer is administrative: membership, a purchased exam voucher, and matching government photo ID. The second layer is competence: the advanced specialty knowledge the exam assumes you bring with you. This article walks through both, so you can tell whether you are ready to register now or should build experience first. If you are still orienting yourself to the credential, start with What Is CGSC Certification? and then return here.

No Mandatory Prior Credential, Degree, or Experience Minimum

The CGSC is a stand-alone certification. Unlike some AAPC specialty credentials that are often discussed alongside a foundational certification, the published CGSC requirements do not make you hold another credential first. Specifically:

  • No mandatory prior credential. You do not need a CPC or any other certification on file to register.
  • No required degree. There is no college or diploma threshold.
  • No references requirement. You are not asked to submit employer or colleague references.
  • No fixed specialty experience minimum. There is no hard-coded number of years or hours that blocks registration.
Low Barrier, High Expectation: The absence of a mandatory prerequisite does not mean the exam is entry-level. AAPC publishes an experience expectation of two years, and the content assumes you understand specialty pathophysiology, operative-note abstraction, and global surgery rules. Registering without that background is allowed, but it is a risk to your voucher.

For a candid look at how that expectation plays out on test day, see How Hard Is the CGSC Exam?

Membership, Voucher, and Photo ID: The Real Gatekeepers

Because there is no credential or degree check, the practical requirements come down to three items. Miss any one and you cannot test.

AAPC Membership

AAPC membership is required to take the exam. There is no separate non-member exam price, so membership is part of the cost of entry rather than an optional upgrade. At the time of review, the current shop membership add-on was listed at $229. You also need to keep that membership active after you pass, which we cover below.

An Unused Exam Voucher

You must hold a voucher that has not yet been redeemed. The specialty exam fee is $325 for one attempt or $399 for a package with two attempts. Compare that second-attempt pricing against your own confidence level before you buy; a full breakdown of what to budget lives in CGSC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Matching Government Photo ID

The name on your registration must match your government-issued photo identification. This sounds trivial, but name mismatches are one of the most avoidable reasons for being turned away. Check how your name appears on your AAPC profile and compare it letter for letter against your ID before exam day.

RequirementStatus for CGSC
Prior certificationNot mandatory (stand-alone credential)
DegreeNot required
ReferencesNot required
Fixed experience minimumNone enforced; two years recommended
AAPC membershipRequired
Exam voucherRequired, must be unused
Government photo IDRequired, must match registration
Advanced specialty knowledgeExpected

The two-year figure is a recommendation, not a prerequisite. AAPC does not verify it at registration, but the published experience expectations signal what the exam is built around: someone who has handled real general surgery claims long enough to have seen the awkward cases. Those include multiple procedures in one session, complications during the global period, and documentation that leaves out the detail a coder needs.

If you have less than two years, you can still qualify to test. The question is whether you can close the gap with structured study. Candidates who work in general surgery practices or hospital outpatient departments and abstract operative notes daily are the natural fit. Candidates coming from E/M-only or primary-care coding often need to build procedural fluency from scratch. To understand how employers value the credential across those backgrounds, browse CGSC Jobs and CGSC Salary Guide 2026.

Key Takeaway

Treat the two-year recommendation as a self-assessment checklist. If you cannot confidently walk through an operative note and assign CPT, ICD-10-CM, and modifiers from it, build that skill before spending a voucher.

Exam Format You Must Be Ready For

Knowing the format is part of meeting the requirements, because you need to be able to perform inside it. The CGSC exam is:

  • 100 proctored multiple-choice questions
  • Four hours, taken in a single sitting
  • 70% correct to pass

The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed, so assume every question matters. AAPC does not publish a CGSC-specific pass rate. You may see a broad AAPC student success figure in marketing materials, but that is not the pass rate for this credential and should not be used to estimate your odds. For the data picture, see CGSC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows, and for the scoring threshold itself, CGSC Passing Score 2026.

Don't Confuse Practice Products With the Real Exam: The official study guide includes a 35-question quiz, and there is a separate 50-question practice product. Neither matches the live exam's 100 questions. Use them for diagnostics, not as a prediction of exam length or difficulty.

Four hours for 100 questions gives you pacing room, but general surgery scenarios can be long. Operative notes and multi-step coding questions eat time, so practice working through scenario-style items under a clock. You can drill that style in our CGSC practice tests.

Approved Code Books and Reference Rules

The exam is open-book, but only with specific references. You are permitted one copy each of:

  • AMA CPT Professional
  • ICD-10-CM
  • HCPCS Level II

Current-year or prior-year editions are allowed. The one-copy limit matters: you cannot bring duplicate or extra volumes. Whether a calculator is permitted or whether the exam is adaptive is not verified in the available source material, so confirm those details directly with AAPC during registration rather than assuming.

Tab and annotate your books ahead of time, within whatever annotation rules AAPC states. Candidates who know where the global surgical package guidance, modifier tables, and add-on code conventions live in their books save real minutes per question.

Remote Proctoring and Testing Setup Requirements

The exam can be taken live-remote or at a computer testing center. If you choose remote, plan your environment as carefully as your studying. Remote room, computer, internet, and external webcam requirements apply. In practice that means:

  • A quiet, private room that meets proctor room-scan expectations
  • A computer and stable internet connection that meet the technical specifications
  • An external webcam, not just a built-in laptop camera
  • Your matching government photo ID at hand for verification

The authorized testing center listing associates AAPC with Meazure Learning, but the specific remote vendor for CGSC is not verified here, so check your confirmation email for exact instructions. Run any provided system check well before exam day. If you prefer a controlled environment, a testing center removes most of the technology risk. For scheduling logistics, see CGSC Exam Dates 2026.

The Advanced Specialty Knowledge You Need

This is where "requirements" becomes a content question. AAPC publishes six assessment-competency areas for the CGSC. They are unweighted, meaning no official blueprint tells you which area counts most, so prepare for all six rather than gambling on a favorite. The 2026 specialty study guide also states it is not comprehensive, so treat it as a core resource, not the whole syllabus. For a deeper walkthrough, read CGSC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.

Domain 1: Physician and Operative-Note Abstraction for ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS Level II and Modifiers

You must read physician office notes and operative notes and pull out what is codable.

  • Identify the procedure actually performed versus what was planned
  • Apply ICD-10-CM guidelines, including chapter-specific rules
  • Select modifiers supported by the documentation

Domain 2: Evaluation and Management Guidelines

General surgeons bill E/M services constantly, and the rules around them are exam territory.

  • New and established office/outpatient services
  • Consultations and hospital services
  • Same-day return visits and standby services

Domain 3: Medicare Billing Rules and Regulations

Medicare policy shapes much of general surgery reimbursement.

  • Incident-to and shared/split visit rules
  • Teaching physician guidelines
  • Global surgery and the Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN)

Domain 4: General Surgery Surgical Procedure Coding

The procedural core of the credential.

  • Procedures such as gastric bypass, breast biopsy, ambulatory phlebectomy, skin graft, cholecystectomy, and pancreatic resection
  • Global period, surgical complications, and intra-service or post-procedure care only
  • Add-on codes, separate procedures, sequential procedures, and unlisted procedures

Domain 5: Medical Terminology

Operative notes are written in dense clinical language; misreading a root or suffix changes the code.

  • Surgical approach and technique terms
  • Anatomical direction and location vocabulary

Domain 6: Anatomy and Physiology

You need to know what is being operated on to pick the right code.

  • Digestive, hepatobiliary, and pancreatic structures
  • Breast, skin, and vascular anatomy
  • Specialty pathophysiology behind the diagnoses

The study guide's table of contents also flags a section titled "Top 10 Missed Coding Concepts on CGSC Exam," which is a good signal for where candidates tend to stumble. Pair the guide with the strategies in CGSC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Matching Your Preparation Calendar to the Six Domains

Because the domains are unweighted, sequence your preparation by dependency rather than by perceived size. Foundation topics first, high-judgment topics last. Here is one way to order it:

Weeks 1-2

Terminology and Anatomy

  • Domains 5 and 6 underpin everything else
  • Focus on digestive, breast, skin, and vascular systems
Weeks 3-4

E/M and Medicare Rules

  • Domains 2 and 3: incident-to, shared visits, teaching physician rules, ABN
  • Same-day return visit scenarios
Weeks 5-7

Procedure Coding and Global Surgery

  • Domain 4: global package, complications, add-on and separate procedures
  • Walk through operative notes line by line
Week 8

Abstraction Under Time Pressure

  • Domain 1: full-length mixed practice
  • Review the "missed concepts" list and weak modifiers

That ordering puts operative-note abstraction last on purpose: it draws on every other domain at once. A quick reference you can keep beside your books is the CGSC Cheat Sheet 2026, and structured courses are covered under CGSC Training.

Requirements After You Pass: Membership and CEUs

Earning the credential is not the end of the requirements. To keep it active you must:

  • Maintain annual AAPC membership. A lapse in membership affects your standing.
  • Earn 36 CEUs every two years, including eight that are general-surgery-specific.

These figures apply to a single credential. Plan for the eight specialty CEUs early rather than scrambling at the end of the cycle. Webinars, workshops, and surgery-focused coding education are natural sources. Whether all of this is worth it depends on your career goals, which we analyze in Is the CGSC Certification Worth It?

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need another certification before taking the CGSC?

No. The CGSC is a stand-alone certification with no mandatory prior credential, degree, references, or fixed specialty experience minimum. You do need AAPC membership, an unused exam voucher, and matching government photo ID.

Is two years of experience required?

Two years is recommended, not required. The exam still assumes advanced general surgery coding knowledge, so candidates with less experience should plan extra preparation, especially on operative-note abstraction.

How many questions are on the CGSC exam and what score do I need?

The exam has 100 proctored multiple-choice questions in four hours, taken in one sitting. You need 70% correct to pass. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.

Which code books can I bring?

One copy each of AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM, and HCPCS Level II. Current or preceding-year editions are allowed, and extra copies are not.

What does it take to keep the CGSC credential?

You must maintain annual AAPC membership and complete 36 CEUs every two years, with eight of them specific to general surgery.

Ready to pass your CGSC exam?

Put this into practice with free CGSC questions across every exam domain.