CGSC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CGSC Certification

TL;DR
  • The CGSC exam is 100 proctored multiple-choice questions in four hours, with 70% correct required to pass.
  • AAPC membership is required to sit the exam; the specialty fee is $325 for one attempt or $399 for two.
  • There is no mandatory prior credential or degree, though AAPC recommends two years of experience.
  • Six unweighted assessment areas apply, from operative-note abstraction to anatomy and physiology; no official domain weights are published.

What the Certified General Surgery Coder Credential Actually Is

The Certified General Surgery Coder credential is a specialty certification issued by AAPC (the American Academy of Professional Coders). It validates that a coder can translate the documentation of general surgery encounters, meaning office notes, consultations, hospital visits and operative reports, into accurate ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS Level II and modifier assignments. If you are new to the terminology, our explainers on what CGSC certification is and what CGSC stands for cover the basics, and this article focuses on how the certification works in practice.

One point of clarity matters up front: the acronym CGSC is used by other, unrelated credentials. This site is exclusively about the AAPC specialty certification for general surgery coding. Everything below, from fees to exam length to maintenance requirements, applies to that credential only.

It is also a stand-alone certification. AAPC does not require you to hold a prior credential, a degree, references or a fixed number of years in a surgical specialty before you register. That said, the issuer recommends roughly two years of experience, and the exam assumes advanced specialty knowledge. Candidates who treat "no formal prerequisite" as "no experience needed" tend to be surprised by the depth of the operative-note questions. Our CGSC requirements guide walks through eligibility in more detail.

Exam Format: 100 Questions, Four Hours, One Sitting

The exam consists of 100 proctored multiple-choice questions, delivered in a single four-hour sitting. A score of 70% correct is required to pass. Those are the numbers AAPC publishes, and they are the ones to plan around. Several details are not published: AAPC does not disclose how many of the 100 items are scored versus unscored, and calculator and adaptive-testing rules for this specific exam are unverified. Treat any source that claims precise answers to those questions with suspicion.

Four hours for 100 questions is generous on paper, roughly two and a half minutes per item. In practice, the time goes quickly because coding questions are rarely one-step. A single question may hand you an operative note, ask you to identify the primary procedure, determine whether a modifier applies, and then pick the correct code combination. Reading comprehension of surgical documentation is the real time sink. For a deeper look at how demanding the exam feels, see how hard the CGSC exam is and our breakdown of the CGSC passing score.

Beware of borrowed numbers: AAPC does not publish a pass rate for the CGSC specifically. The broad "80% of students pass" figure that appears in AAPC marketing is not this credential's pass rate. Likewise, the 35-question quiz in the study guide and the 50-question practice product are study tools, not the live exam's 100-question format. We cover what the data does and does not show in CGSC pass rate: what the data shows.

Registration, Membership and Fee Mechanics

Registration for this exam runs through AAPC, and a few mechanics catch people off guard.

ItemWhat applies to the CGSC
Exam fee, one attempt$325
Exam fee, two attempts$399
MembershipRequired; there is no separate non-member exam price
Membership add-on in the current shop$229
DeliveryLive-remote proctoring or a computer testing center
IdentificationGovernment photo ID that matches your registration
VoucherAn unused exam voucher is needed to test

The practical takeaway is that the true cost is the exam fee plus membership, not the exam fee alone. Because AAPC does not offer a cheaper non-member tariff, budget for both. The two-attempt option at $399 costs only $74 more than a single attempt, which makes it the sensible choice for most first-time candidates unless you are consistently scoring well above the passing line on timed practice. Our CGSC certification cost breakdown lays out the full pricing picture, and the exam dates and scheduling guide explains how to book a sitting.

On delivery, AAPC lists its authorized testing centers under Meazure Learning, but the specific remote vendor for the CGSC is unverified, so confirm the details in your AAPC account at the time you schedule. Match your name exactly to your photo ID, because an ID mismatch on exam day can end a sitting before it starts.

The Six Published Assessment Areas

AAPC's current help page describes six competencies the exam tests. These are unweighted topics, not an official weighted blueprint, and no dated weighting has been verified, so no single domain can be called the largest. The safest approach is to prepare for all six. Our complete guide to the CGSC exam domains goes deeper on each area.

Domain 1: Physician and operative-note abstraction for ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS Level II and modifiers

This is the skill that ties everything together. You read a note, pull out the diagnoses, services and supplies, and assign the correct codes and modifiers.

  • Identify the definitive procedure versus incidental steps in an operative narrative
  • Distinguish what is separately reportable from what is bundled
  • Choose modifiers that reflect what actually happened, not just what was planned
  • Link diagnoses to the services they justify

Domain 2: Evaluation and management guidelines

General surgeons bill E/M services constantly, including new and established office and outpatient visits, consultations and hospital services.

  • New versus established patient rules
  • Consultation reporting and when a visit is not a consult
  • Hospital inpatient and observation services
  • The decision to operate and its relationship to the global period

Domain 3: Medicare billing rules and regulations

The published topics here include incident-to, teaching situations, shared visits, consultations and global surgery.

  • Incident-to requirements and when they fail
  • Teaching physician presence and documentation rules
  • Shared/split visit attribution
  • Global surgical package components and exclusions

Domain 4: General Surgery surgical procedure coding

AAPC names gastric bypass, breast biopsy, ambulatory phlebectomy, skin graft, cholecystectomy and pancreatic resection among the procedures covered.

  • Approach matters: open versus laparoscopic versus converted procedures
  • Add-on codes, separate procedures and sequential procedures
  • Unlisted procedure reporting
  • Complications and intra-service or post-procedure care only

Domain 5: Medical terminology

You cannot abstract an operative note you cannot read. Prefixes, suffixes and root words for incisions, excisions, resections, anastomoses and repairs are the working vocabulary.

Domain 6: Anatomy and physiology

Surgical coding depends on knowing where structures sit and what they do. AAPC's published experience expectations also include specialty pathophysiology, so understanding the disease process behind a procedure helps with diagnosis coding.

What the 2026 Study Guide Tells You to Master

The official 2026 General Surgery coding manual from AAPC is the closest thing to a published scope document, though AAPC itself says the guide is not comprehensive. Its table of contents shows how the issuer organizes the material, and it is a useful checklist for your own preparation. For a full plan, see our CGSC study guide.

ICD-10-CM coding guidelines

The guide opens with an introduction to the guidelines, general tips for using ICD-10-CM, the general guidelines, and chapter-specific guidelines. Surgical diagnosis coding hinges on these rules, especially sequencing and the handling of conditions found at the time of surgery.

Evaluation and management for general surgery

This section covers documentation requirements, E/M categories and subcategories, and a run of situations that trip people up: a patient returning to the office on the same date of service, incident-to guidelines, standby services, shared/split visits, teaching physician guidelines, and the Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN).

CPT coding for general surgery

The procedural section addresses the global surgical package, the global period, surgical complications, and intra-service or post-procedure care only. It then moves through add-on codes, separate procedures, sequential procedures, the operative note, CPT procedure coding and unlisted procedures.

Read the last chapter early: The guide closes with a section titled "Top 10 Missed Coding Concepts on CGSC Exam." Candidates often leave it for last. Reading it at the start of your prep tells you where the issuer sees mistakes concentrated, which helps you aim your practice from day one.

Code Books and Remote-Testing Rules

You may bring one copy each of the AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II code books. Current or prior-year editions are allowed, but only one copy of each. This changes how you should practice. If you intend to use annotated books on exam day, train with those exact books from the beginning. Tabbing, highlighting and margin notes are only useful if you can locate them quickly under time pressure, and on a 100-question exam, fumbling for a guideline costs real minutes.

For live-remote testing, AAPC applies room, computer, internet and external webcam requirements. Run the system check well before exam day rather than the night before, clear your workspace, and confirm your connection can hold for four hours. If you would rather avoid home-network risk entirely, a computer testing center is the alternative delivery option.

Sequencing Your Prep Around the Domains

Because the domains are unweighted, sequence your study by dependency rather than by guessed importance. The foundations come first, since everything else builds on them.

Weeks 1-2

Terminology and anatomy (Domains 5 and 6)

  • Build surgical vocabulary and organ-system anatomy before touching code sets
  • Focus on the digestive tract, hepatobiliary system, breast, skin and venous system, which map to named exam procedures
Weeks 3-4

E/M and Medicare rules (Domains 2 and 3)

  • Work through incident-to, shared visits, teaching physician rules and the ABN
  • Master the global surgical package and what falls inside versus outside it
Weeks 5-7

Procedure coding and abstraction (Domains 1 and 4)

  • Code full operative notes end to end, including modifiers and add-on codes
  • Practice with your approved reference books so tabbing and lookups become fast
Week 8

Timed mixed review

  • Simulate the four-hour, 100-question format
  • Review misses against the guide's "Top 10 Missed Coding Concepts" chapter

Adjust the timeline to your experience. A coder who bills general surgery daily may compress the first block, while someone coming from another specialty should spend longer on it. Pair this with timed drills from our CGSC practice tests, and keep our one-page CGSC cheat sheet handy for last-week review. Your practice test results will show which domains need another pass.

Who Hires General Surgery Coders

The employers who value this credential are those that bill for general surgery services at volume. That includes surgical group practices, hospital outpatient departments and ambulatory surgery centers, multispecialty clinics with a general surgery line, and third-party billing and coding companies that serve surgical practices. Compliance and auditing teams also look for specialty-credentialed coders when reviewing surgical claims.

Specialty certification signals that you can handle the documentation and payment rules that make surgical claims error-prone: global periods, modifiers and multiple-procedure logic. It can support a move from a generalist role into a surgical coding position or strengthen your case for a more senior one. We do not quote a salary figure here because AAPC does not publish one for this credential; our CGSC salary guide and CGSC jobs overview discuss the market in more depth, and our ROI analysis helps you weigh the cost against your career goals.

Keeping the Credential Active

Passing the exam is not the end of the obligation. To maintain a single credential, AAPC requires an active annual membership and 36 continuing education units (CEUs) every two years, including eight that are specific to general surgery. Plan your CE activity so that the specialty-specific requirement is not left to the final month of your cycle. Updates to CPT and ICD-10-CM each year also change the content you code, so ongoing learning is part of the job and not just a compliance task.

Key Takeaway

Treat the CGSC as a documentation-reading exam as much as a code-lookup exam. Practice abstracting full operative notes with your approved books, because the highest-risk questions combine procedure selection, modifiers and Medicare rules in a single scenario.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many questions are on the CGSC exam, and what score do I need?

The exam has 100 proctored multiple-choice questions delivered in four hours in one sitting. You need 70% correct to pass. AAPC does not disclose how many items are scored versus unscored.

Do I need to be an AAPC member to take the exam?

Yes. Membership is required, and there is no separate non-member exam price. The specialty exam fee is $325 for one attempt or $399 for two attempts, with the current shop membership add-on listed at $229.

Do I need another credential or a degree before I register?

No. The CGSC is a stand-alone certification with no mandatory prior credential, degree or references. AAPC recommends about two years of experience and expects advanced specialty knowledge.

Which books can I use during the exam?

One copy each of the AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II code books. Current or prior-year editions are permitted, and the one-copy limit applies to each book.

What is the CGSC pass rate?

AAPC does not publicly disclose a pass rate for this credential. The general 80% student figure in AAPC marketing is not the CGSC's rate, so be cautious about any site quoting a specific percentage.

Ready to pass your CGSC exam?

Put this into practice with free CGSC questions across every exam domain.