- What CGSC Means Here
- Who Issues It and How the Exam Runs
- What the Credential Assesses
- What the 2026 Study Guide Spells Out
- Registration, Membership and Fees
- Eligibility: What Is and Isn't Required
- Keeping the Credential Active
- Where the Credential Fits in a Coding Career
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CGSC here means Certified General Surgery Coder, a specialty credential issued by AAPC, not any other certification sharing the acronym.
- The exam is 100 proctored multiple-choice questions in four hours, and passing requires 70% correct.
- Candidates may bring one each of AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II, current or prior-year editions.
- Six published assessment areas run from operative-note abstraction to anatomy, but no weighted blueprint has been verified.
What CGSC Means Here
Several credentials in healthcare and elsewhere abbreviate to the same four letters. On this site, CGSC means Certified General Surgery Coder: a specialty coding certification from AAPC (the American Academy of Professional Coders) aimed at coders who abstract and code general surgery encounters. If you arrived looking for a different credential, nothing in this article describes it.
The credential tests whether you can take a surgeon's documentation, including office notes, operative reports and hospital visit notes, and turn it into accurate diagnosis codes, procedure codes, supply or service codes and modifiers. If you want the shorter definitional versions of this topic, see What Does CGSC Stand For? and What Is CGSC Certification?. This article goes deeper into how the exam is built and what it demands.
Who Issues It and How the Exam Runs
AAPC administers the exam. It can be taken in a live-remote format or at a computer testing center; AAPC's authorized-center listing points to Meazure Learning, though the specific remote vendor for this credential has not been verified. Remote candidates should expect requirements around the room, the computer, internet connectivity and an external webcam.
| Exam Feature | CGSC Detail |
|---|---|
| Format | Proctored multiple-choice |
| Number of questions | 100 |
| Time allowed | 4 hours, one sitting |
| Passing standard | 70% correct |
| Permitted references | One each: AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM, HCPCS Level II |
| Edition rule | Current or prior-year editions allowed |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
Two details deserve attention. First, the exam is open-book in the sense that the three code books are allowed, so success depends on navigating them quickly rather than memorizing code numbers. Second, AAPC does not disclose how many of the 100 questions are scored versus unscored, so you should treat every question as if it counts. For a full breakdown of the threshold itself, read CGSC Passing Score 2026.
What the Credential Assesses
AAPC's published description lists six assessment areas. These are unweighted topics, not an official weighted blueprint, and no single domain has been established as the largest. Plan on needing all six.
Domain 1: Physician and operative-note abstraction for ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS Level II and modifiers
This is the core skill: reading a physician office note or operative report and extracting every codable element.
- Pulling diagnoses from the documentation and sequencing them correctly
- Identifying the procedure actually performed versus what was planned
- Choosing HCPCS Level II codes and modifiers that reflect the circumstances of the service
Domain 2: Evaluation and management guidelines
Surgeons bill E/M services too, and the exam covers new and established office and outpatient visits, consultations and hospital services.
- Selecting the right E/M category and level from documentation
- Recognizing when an E/M service accompanies a procedure
Domain 3: Medicare billing rules and regulations
Published topics include incident-to billing, teaching-physician situations, shared visits, consultations and global surgery rules.
- Knowing who may bill what under which circumstances
- Applying global surgery concepts to post-operative care
Domain 4: General Surgery surgical procedure coding
The published examples span gastric bypass, breast biopsy, ambulatory phlebectomy, skin graft, cholecystectomy and pancreatic resection.
- Matching operative-note detail to the right CPT code
- Handling add-on codes, separate procedures and sequential procedures
Domain 5: Medical terminology
Prefixes, suffixes and root words let you decode an operative note quickly and avoid choosing a code that merely sounds right.
Domain 6: Anatomy and physiology
You need to know where structures sit and how they relate. Published experience expectations also include specialty pathophysiology, so understanding the disease processes behind the procedures helps.
For a domain-by-domain walkthrough, see CGSC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.
What the 2026 Study Guide Spells Out
AAPC publishes a 2026 General Surgery Coding Manual whose table of contents is a useful map of the concepts the credential cares about. The guide itself states that it is not comprehensive, so treat it as a core resource rather than a guarantee of coverage. Its major sections include:
- ICD-10-CM coding guidelines: general tips, general guidelines and chapter-specific guidelines.
- Evaluation and management for general surgery: documentation requirements, E/M categories and subcategories, patient returning to the office on the same date of service, incident-to guidelines, standby services, shared/split visits, teaching physician guidelines and the Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN).
- CPT coding for general surgery: the global surgical package, global period, surgical complications, intra-service or post-procedure care only, add-on codes, separate procedures, sequential procedures, the operative note, procedure coding and unlisted procedures.
- Top 10 Missed Coding Concepts on the CGSC Exam: a closing chapter worth reading carefully.
If you want a plan built around these materials, CGSC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt walks through it, and the CGSC Cheat Sheet condenses the must-know facts for last-minute review.
Registration, Membership and Fees
The money side has a few mechanics worth understanding before you buy anything.
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Specialty exam, one attempt | $325 |
| Specialty exam, two attempts | $399 |
| AAPC membership | Required; no separate non-member exam tariff |
| Current shop membership add-on | $229 |
Membership is not optional. Because there is no non-member exam price, the practical cost of sitting for the exam includes the membership fee alongside the exam fee. Candidates also need an unused exam voucher and a government-issued photo ID that matches the name on the registration. For the complete cost picture, see CGSC Certification Cost 2026, and for scheduling, CGSC Exam Dates 2026.
Eligibility: What Is and Isn't Required
CGSC is a stand-alone certification. There is no mandatory prior credential, no required degree, no references to submit and no fixed minimum of specialty experience. Candidates need active membership, an unused voucher, matching photo ID and, in practical terms, advanced knowledge of the specialty.
AAPC does recommend two years of experience. That is guidance, not a gate, but it is a signal about how the exam is pitched: it assumes you can read an operative note and reason through it, not just look up codes. Details are collected in CGSC Requirements 2026.
Key Takeaway
Nothing stops a coder without a prior credential from registering, but the exam's content, such as global package rules and operative-note abstraction, rewards real hands-on exposure. If you lack it, compensate with heavy practice on actual operative-note-style scenarios.
Keeping the Credential Active
Passing is not the end of the obligation. To keep the credential, you maintain annual AAPC membership and earn 36 continuing education units (CEUs) every two years, including eight that are general-surgery-specific. That requirement shapes what the credential signals to employers: current knowledge, not a one-time test result.
Where the Credential Fits in a Coding Career
Employers who value a general surgery specialty credential tend to be those with heavy surgical volume: surgical group practices, hospital-affiliated surgical departments, billing companies serving surgeons and similar organizations. The credential helps a candidate stand out when the job involves reading operative reports and applying global-package and modifier logic every day. For job-market discussion, see CGSC Jobs; for earnings context, CGSC Salary Guide 2026; and for a return-on-investment view, Is the CGSC Certification Worth It?.
On difficulty and results: AAPC does not publicly disclose a pass rate specific to this credential, and the broad AAPC student-success figure that circulates in marketing is not this exam's rate. Treat any CGSC-specific pass-rate number you see elsewhere with suspicion. The data picture is covered in CGSC Pass Rate 2026, and a candid difficulty assessment is in How Hard Is the CGSC Exam?.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
Because no domain weighting is published, spread your effort across all six, but order matters. Terminology and anatomy make every later domain easier to absorb, so front-load them. Then build up to the abstraction and procedure-coding skills that tie everything together.
Terminology and anatomy foundation
- Review Domains 5 and 6 with a focus on abdominal, breast, vascular and skin anatomy
- Learn the root words that recur in operative notes
ICD-10-CM and E/M
- Work through the guidelines and chapter-specific rules
- Practice leveling office and hospital visits from documentation
Medicare rules and the global package
- Drill incident-to, shared visits, teaching physician rules and global period logic
- Practice deciding what is and is not separately reportable
Operative-note abstraction and procedure coding
- Code full operative notes across the published procedure examples
- Time yourself with only your three permitted books, and tab them for speed
This sequence is a suggestion built around how the domains depend on one another, not an official schedule. Adjust the length to your experience. A practicing surgical coder may compress the early weeks, while a newer coder should extend them. When you are ready for timed practice, the CGSC Exam Prep practice test site offers question practice to pair with your reference books.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified General Surgery Coder, a specialty certification from AAPC. Other credentials share the acronym, but this site and article refer only to the general surgery coding certification.
The exam has 100 proctored multiple-choice questions delivered in one four-hour sitting, and you need 70% correct to pass. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.
Yes. You may use one each of AMA CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II. Current or preceding-year editions are allowed, with a one-copy limit per book.
No. It is a stand-alone certification with no mandatory prior credential, degree or reference requirement. You do need AAPC membership, an unused voucher and matching government photo ID, and AAPC recommends two years of experience.
Maintain annual AAPC membership and complete 36 CEUs every two years, including eight that are general-surgery-specific.
For a broader overview of the credential beyond this introduction, you can also read CGSC Certification.